Join an orienteering club 

In New South Wales, orienteering clubs are generally regional divisions of the state group (OANSW). A major function of the clubs is to spread the work of organising orienteering events. The clubs are also pleasant and convenient geographical groups for learning more about orienteering -- and for related social activities ...

Although you can enjoy orienteering alone, early contact with your club is warmly recommended; you will find that the experience and encouragement of other members is very helpful. Clubs are nominally based in particular geographical areas but you may join any club you wish. A good place to meet your fellow club members is near your club's banner at any event in the bush, towards lunch time.

See the Membership page for a membership form and further details.

Bennelong Northside Orienteers Inc. (BNN)

North Sydney, Mosman, Manly and Warringah 


President - Terry Bluett 

Secretary - Kathy Cox

Treasurer - Robert Spry

Big Foot Orienteering Club Inc. (BFN)

Sydney (most members are within 30mins drive from Lane Cove)


President - Andy Simpson

Secretary - Mark Shingler

Treasurer - Cath Chalmers 

Central Coast Orienteers (CCN)

NSW Central Coast area


President - Robyn Pallas 

Secretary - Ivan Kent

Treasurer - Julia Prudhoe 

Garingal Orienteers Inc. (GON)

Northern Sydney Suburbs, Hornsby and Ryde


President - Tony Hill 

Secretary - David Stitt

Treasurer - Melissa Havranek 


Goldseekers Orienteers (GSN)

Bathurst / Orange Region


President - Phillip Schwebel 

Secretary - Jean Baldwin

Treasurer - Elaine Bennett

Illawarra Kareelah Orienteers (IKN)

Wollongong, Nowra, Sutherland and St. George


President - Kevin Curby 

Secretary - Sue Froude

Treasurer - Helen Mills


Mountain Devils MTB Orienteering Club (MDN)

Specialised Mountain Bike Orienteering Club


President (acting) - David West

Secretary - David West

Treasurer - David Ellis & Hilary Dyer 


Newcastle Orienteering Club Inc. (NCN)

Newcastle and Hunter Valley


President - Geoff Peel 

Secretary - Peter Newton

Treasurer - Joy Guy

Northern Tablelands Orienteering Club Inc. (NTN)

Armidale / Tamworth Region


President - Felix Burkhard

Secretary - David Symons

Treasurer - Maurice Anker

Southern Highlands Occasional Orienteers Inc. (SHN) 

Liverpool, Campbelltown, Camden, Picton and Moss Vale 


President - Peter Meyer 

Secretary - Sandra Stewart

Treasurer - John Russell

Uringa Orienteers (URN)

Sydney Eastern Suburbs, Balmain, Ashfield, Canterbury,  Strathfield and Auburn


President - Linda Sesta 

Secretary - Mary Jane Mahony

Treasurer - Dave Lotty 

Wagga and Riverina Occasional Orienteers (WRN)

Wagga and Riverina Region


President - John Oliver 

Secretary - Ed Stow

Treasurer - Pauline Moore 

Western and Hills Orienteers (WHN)

Parramatta, Blacktown, Penrith and Hills District


President - Ted Mulherin 

Secretary - Chris Crane

Treasurer - Ian Miller

Western and Plains Orienteers (WPN)

Dubbo Region


President - Karen Hagan 

Secretary - Sean Hagan

Treasurer -